WhatsApp now lets you delete/recall sent messages, Here is how to do it

After so many rumors and teases, WhatsApp finally makes the long-awaited feature, recall or delete already sent messages. WaBetaInfo a WhatsApp beta tester site reports that the feature is rolling out to everyone.

WhatsApp

Starting now, WhatsApp let you recall accidentally sent messages which were sent to wrong chat or by mistake. However, the roll-out of the feature is slow like all WhatsApp feature roll-out. Also, both the sender and receiver should be on the latest version of WhatsApp with this feature enabled for this to work. The feature works for any type of message that can be sent via WhatsApp.

“Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake,”

-WhatsApp FAQ.

The messages you delete will be replaced by “This messaged was deleted” in the chat. This will inform the receiver of the message being deleted to avoid any issue.

Also Read:  How to use Spotify in India on iOS

With over 1 Billion users and counting the feature might take a long time presumably over a week to reach your phone. This will surely reduce the embarrassment caused via an accidental message sent to the wrong chats.

WhatsApp

However, there is a catch. You have to recall messages before the 7 minutes timer which starts when you send the message. In other words, you will have 7 minutes to recall the message. After that, you cannot recall it.

There is more to this restriction. According to WhatsApp, users cannot recall the messages if

  • The message contained in a quoted message.
  • The message was sent in a Broadcast list.
  • The message was sent before 7 minutes.
  • The sender and receiver both need to be on the newest version. Older phones like the Symbian OS won’t get it.

Also Read:  How to use Spotify in India on Android

If you cant wait and want the feature now, uninstalling and reinstalling may do the trick. However, it is not guaranteed to get you the feature then also and you will lose your chats also.

So what are your thoughts about the latest WhatsApp delete/recall feature? Let us know in the comments down below!

Lalit Wadhwa

Tech Geek, BlackBerry Lover and a Engineer

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: